Cherry Pie

I find each summer I obsess over a different fruit, sometimes its peaches, sometimes nectarines; last year I had a love affair with strawberries. This year, for whatever reason, it is cherries. I mean I say that as if it is weird to love them so much when really it isn’t, they are juicy, sweet with just the right amount of sour, they are great hot and cold, with sweet and savoury foods and that is really only the tip of the iceberg. Every time you read about cherries it seems they can do more amazing things since the last time you looked; help you sleep, anti-inflammatory, full of antioxidants; what more could you want from a fruit? So today I set out to make a cherry pie; a sweet, juicy pie with a nice flaky crust. Now I don’t have the best history with pastry but I have not given up yet, I am still to get the technique down to a tee and I have my good days and bad days but there is definitely improvement there but still a way to go. Anyway back to the point, I have to build myself up to pastry, researching different recipes and techniques (looking for the holy grail it would seem like). I enjoy making it when it goes right but find it can wind me up if it doesn’t go quite to plan. Anyway today’s pastry result is some of the best I have produced to date; flaky, short and tasty. The cherry pie itself is pretty easy to put together once you have made the pastry, pitting the cherries can be a pain but I find it strangely therapeutic (although I warn you all that it is a pretty messy business so definitely do not attempt it in your best white shirt). Cherry Pie The finished article. I will hold my hands up now, this is a rustic looking pie (so kindly put by D) I think I rolled my pastry too thin but it tasted good and lets be honest I would take taste over looks any day of the week thank you very much. I kept the filling simple, adding a teaspoon of almond extract to the cherries. It is such a classic combination but it’s just something I can’t quite get myself to like. I love almonds but almond extract and marzipan or anything like that just does nothing for me. I forgot about this until the very moment I poured the extract in and the smell hit me, but do you know what? It does taste great all the same. This is my first adventure into making cherry pie but it certainly won’t be my last. The cherry season in the UK will soon be coming to the end but by start of season next year I will be ready for them. Follow my blog with Bloglovin with me, I’d love to see them.

2 thoughts on “Cherry Pie

Leave a Reply

