Spaghetti with spinach & mushrooms

Here it is. I leave the house before 7am and I get home just before 7pm, so as much as I love food by the time I get through the door cooking dinner is the last thing on my mind. I am always on the lookout for quick, easy and tasty midweek meals that I can throw together with minimal effort.This is one of my current favourites, it’s creamy, filling and super fast to put together. Secretly though anything with creamy spinach in is more than likely to be a winner in my eyes. I have always loved spinach, I have photos of me falling asleep in my spinach as a child, and I will have it anyway it comes. This meal is the type that makes a meat free meal so easy to love. This is also partly down to the portobello mushrooms, they are a meaty mushroom (both in size, texture and taste).

There are a couple of things to note here, both mushrooms and spinach are watery. I use portobello mushrooms because they have a little less water. Always get the spinach as dry as possible as in my opinion there is nothing worse than spinach water, when using frozen defrost it and then squeeze it to get as much water out as possible before using kitchen paper to dry it further. If you use fresh put the leaves in a pan with a drop of water to prevent it from sticking, once it is wilted dry it using kitchen paper, much the same as with the frozen spinach. We always keep a bag of frozen spinach in the freezer as it is so easy to throw a handful in with pasta or a curry or even as a side dish sautéed off with some garlic and onion.

End Result: a deliciously, creamy, easy dinner

End Result: a deliciously, creamy, easy dinner

Spaghetti with Spinach and Mushrooms | Serves 2

2tbsp butter

1tbsp sunflower oil

1 small red onion, finely sliced

2 cloves of garlic, crushed

2 portobello mushrooms, chopped

1tbsp flour

175g frozen spinach

200ml creams fraiche

  • Get a big pot of salted water onto boil.
  • Put the spinach in a sieve and run water over it until it is defrosted. Then squeeze as much water out as much as possible before dabbing it with kitchen paper (if you do use kitchen paper make sure it doesn’t disintegrate onto the spinach as that would not be fun).
  • Melt the butter in the pan until it’s sizzling then add the sliced onion and cook until soft and translucent before adding the garlic for a few seconds before adding the mushrooms.
  • Then add the spinach to heat through before adding the creme fraiche.
  • Once the pasta is cooked drain it and add it to the sauce and heat it all through.
  • Add salt and pepper to taste.

Literally chopping the mushrooms will take you the longest time and then it’s all easy going from there. Sit down, pour yourself a glass of wine, tuck in and enjoy.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin with me, I’d love to see them.

Leave a Reply

