Triple Chocolate Cookies

Did everyone watch and love The Great British Bake Off last week? I loved it. I am so glad it is back on and am so excited for the episode tomorrow. It has totally got me back in the spirit of baking as I have found myself drifting over to the ‘cooking’ side of the kitchen coming up with new dinner and lunch recipes. But this week I have baked triple chocolate cookies and now I am sharing the love.

When my brother first visited me in Oxford whilst I was at uni one of his friends had recommended a cookie place in the centre of town called ‘Ben’s Cookies’. Well I can honestly say my cookie eating habits and expectations changed that day. It is a little shop in the covered market, the smell is divine and then you see all the cookie options and you want to ask for one of each. I still remember the first one I tried was the triple chocolate, since then I have gone through probably 50% of the menu on offer. They are especially good when they are fresh out of the oven, still warm, gooey and extremely messy to eat. This is not the type of cookie that you can take out of the bag and eat, it is more cadbury’s flake like, you need to keep it in the bag to try and keep hold of as much as possible. And definitely take them up on the offer of napkins, you will regret it otherwise. Now the cookies are absolutely brilliant but I must admit they are hands down a million times better fresh than they are when they have been sat there a couple of hours.

So back to the cookies in hand, I always love a cookie that is slights crunchy on the edge and then soft, gooey and chewy in the middle. Ahh just thinking about me is making me drool slightly. Now these are no comparison to a fresh Ben’s Cookies but do you know what they are pretty darn close. I love them with a cup of tea, they are super rich and decadent. If you can manage to leave then whilst they cool you get a gold star I never can. Do you know what the best thing about these is? Speed. Oh yes these bad boys take no time at all to throw together and a grand total of 10 minutes in the oven and five minutes for resting. But seriously a sweet treat within an hour how could that be anything but brilliant? These are the perfect thing to eat whilst watching the bake off and so quick to make. If you give them a go, let me know.

In Progress

Before the oven

Finished Cookies Finished Cookies

Triple Chocolate & Pecan Cookies | Makes 18

150g self raising flour

25g cocoa Powder 

1/4tsp salt

1/4tsp bicarbonate of soda

60g caster sugar

60g light muscovado sugar

115g soft butter 

75g pecans, chopped

150g dark chocolate (minimum 70%)

25g white chocolate

  • Preheat the oven to 180°c
  • Sift your flour and cocoa flour together
  • Then put the rest of the ingredients into a big bowl and mix them all together until everything is combined – yes it really is that easy.
  • Drop a tablespoon of mixture onto a lined baking tray. Make sure you leave enough space the cookies out as they will spread.
  • Pop them in the oven for 10 minutes. If you lightly touch them they will have formed a crust but will still be very soft.
  • Take them out of the oven and leave them on the tray for another 5 minutes, they will continue to cook whilst.
  • After that put them on a wire cooling rack to cool.

Notes:

I don’t like too much white chocolate but if you feel like more just replace some of the dark chocolate. I found with 25g it just adds a little additional sweetness against the rich, dark chocolate.

The butter needs to be soft in order to combine it well but don’t be tempted to melt it.

Leave a Reply

