I fell in love with the seaside…

At the beginning of September we went down to Brighton for a three day weekend. It was quite possibly one of the best weekends we have had away in absolutely ages. I had never been to Brighton and I was really excited. The journey down only took a couple of hours and I wondered why we had not made the trip before.

Brighton Seafront_1

I had booked an apartment through Air BnB, which I was slightly apprehensive about but I needn’t have been it was absolutely fantastic. The apartment was in Kemptown on the Royal Crescent and right by the sea. The location, for us, couldn’t have been more perfect. Sarah met us on arrival and showed us around. She had left a wonderful welcome pack that included some lovely preserves and fresh bread from a local bakery. All the amenities were absolutely fantastic, I could have stayed in the bathroom for the entire weekend just switching between the bath and the shower. Everything you could possibly have needed was there in the little kitchen and there was even Sky to enjoy. The bed was so comfortable and there was just so many lovely touches, I fell in love with the Brighton light and the photographs that were on display. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Brighton I would not hesitate to recommend Sarah’s apartment it is perfect. The photographs I have really do not do it justice, so click here to go to Sarah’s website.

The Royal Crescent

The Royal Crescent

We travelled down on Friday and spent the late afternoon and evening exploring. We walked around The Laines before getting ready to go for dinner at Fishy Fishy. Dinner was lovely, although there are some places I would want to try before returning. The service, however, was wonderful. We had the tacos to start and, personally, I was not convinced but my lemon sole main course was absolutely delicious and my creme brûlée at the end was dreamy. We finished off the evening by going to the penny slots on Brighton Pier, we spent £2 and had so much fun. I am so easily entertained, but I can’t be the only one as there were still lots of people there.

Penny Slots

Penny Slots

On Saturday we went to a wedding, which was absolutely beautiful. The ceremony itself was at the Unitarian Church and it was so personal, beautiful and emotional. The bride and groom had written their own vows which were full of love, commitment and humour, all in all it was absolutely perfect.

After the ceremony we headed to the perfectly positioned pub right opposite the church for a drink whilst the newlyweds went to have some photographs taken. We then took a walk through the Pavillion gardens and along the beach front to the reception location. So much effort had been put in, there were deckchairs and lanterns outside turning the courtyard into a wonderful, secret garden. There was a selection of beers and ales and a beautiful rum punch whilst canapés were coming around. The canapés and the rest of the wedding breakfast food was absolutely mind blowing-ly delicious. We then continued to party on into the night with a great band and DJ. My feet by the end of it were killing me, always a sign of a brilliant wedding 🙂

The banjo player was awesome and even did requests [he was a bit disappointed with our rendition of Old MacDonald though]

The banjo player was awesome and even did requests [he was a bit disappointed with our rendition of Old MacDonald though]

These were for pudding and were quite possibly the most delicious baklava I have had.

These were for pudding and were quite possibly the most delicious baklava I have had.

On Sunday we woke up and had already decided we would try and make the most of our time in Brighton and set out for some breakfast and to have a look around the shops. My friend had told me that I would fall in love with the Brighton independent shops and she was not wrong. Firstly we went for breakfast here. It was busy when we arrived and the food showed why, it was lovely. Unfortunately it was slightly cold but it wouldn’t stop me going again. It was the perfect hangover cure and set us up for a day of walking and me-oh-my did we walk. We went into every home shop we came across and bought a wonderful copper angle poise lamp, which I have been hunting for for ages. We bought it here and I could have bought more than 50% of the shop, it is brilliant and I would recommend everyone to visit when they are there whether you are looking for something for yourself or a gift they will have something. We also had a gelato from here which has won awards and it was clear to see why as it was delicious. The weather was so warm it was the perfect relief. After that we walked back to the car via the Pavilion gardens and Brighton pier.

I loved the glimpses of the pavilion that you get as you walk through the gorgeous gardens.

I loved the glimpses of the pavilion that you get as you walk through the gorgeous gardens.

Brighton Pavillion

Brighton Pavillion

It was so lovely to be by the seaside. We were lucky because it stayed dry for us but the weather on Sunday was absolutely amazing as you can see from the photos. I was so happy the rain held off on Saturday. I just found the trip so relaxing and I really felt it blew away the cobwebs. We are planning a getaway in November and Brighton is a possibility, or we may try and sneak away in December and do some Christmas shopping.

Overall, our trip felt far too short and I still miss it. We are planning our next trip and I cannot wait. Brighton has stolen my heart, I loved the people, the shops, the atmosphere, the sea just absolutely everything and I look forward to going again soon.

Where are your favourite places in Brighton? I’d love to hear your recommendations.

Beautiful Brighton panorama

Beautiful Brighton panorama

Brighton by night

Brighton by night

One thought on “I fell in love with the seaside…

Leave a Reply

