Golden Fizz Cocktail

Golden Fizz

I have always enjoyed a cocktail, I think it all started with a mojito and moved onto a cosmopolitan and let us not forget the wonderful frozen margaritas (although those evenings never and all that well). So when I received two cocktail books for Christmas I wasn’t entirely sure where to start there were just so many that I wanted to try.

So I started with a clover club and to be honest I wasn’t too enamoured but then I tried this…. Golden Fizz.

Pavlovas were the order of the day yesterday (recipe to follow shortly) and I had some egg yolks leftover. This is not a recipe that I would have normally have tried first, bookmarking the silver and Ramos fizz over this golden one but you know waste not want not, I would give it a go. And my oh my I was so glad. This is first of all wonderfully simple and is a gorgeous peach colour. The drink itself is velvet-y smooth and goes down, well… easily.

The reason I wasn’t so sure about this one was because of the egg yolk but actually I think this is what made it rich and smooth, so try not to be put off. Next time you are making pavlovas why not give this a go you won’t regret it.

DSCF1210 - edited

 


 

Golden Fizz | Serves 1

[Recipe slightly adapted from Gary Regan, The Joy of Mixology, 2004]

Ingredients:

  • 60ml Gin – I used the Sipsmiths London Dry
  • 60ml Simple Sugar Syrup
  • 40ml Lemon Juice
  • 1 free range egg yolk
  • Soda
  • Ice to Shake

Method:

  1. Put everything into a boston shaker and give it a good shake, you need the egg to emulsify so shake it well.
  2. StrainΒ into a highball glass and top up with soda water.

 

Leave a Reply

