Garibaldi Biscuits

A while back I posted a recipe for Jam Biscuits (aka Jammy dodgers). It got me thinking about break times at school where we would all queue up for biscuits. You would never want to be late and be at the back of the queue because that would mean you were left with the boring biscuits. One of these so called boring biscuits was the garibaldi (aka squashed fly biscuits), although this was great for me because I loved these biscuits and I could always have a couple and the dinner ladies wouldn’t mind because no one else was going to eat them. Anyway after this reminiscing I thought I would go about making some.

DSCF2306---edited

After a bit of a long day at work I came home a bit bothered, a bit stressed and frustrated so thought I would get into the kitchen and bake to calm down. These biscuits are great because they are quick to come together, quick to bake and quick to cool (if you can wait that long).

DSCF2313---edited

My first search brought me to Delia’s recipe first. Second I discovered this recipe from Emma on Poires au Chocolat, which led on nicely to this article from Bee Wilson. I was completely fascinated by the fact that they were born in a factory and were not derived from a homebaked version and also the longevity of the biscuit that so many people turn their noses up at – 1861! I had to give this a go.

I made the original to Delia’s recipe but the second time around I followed Emma’s advice by using the rest of the egg and adding more fruit. Now I love an original garibaldi but I would perhaps add a few raisins or sultanas to the currants just to give a bit of a different texture.

DSCF2336 - edited

However, this recipe is for a berries and cherries version – Sacrilege I hear you all shouting. Stay with me, these are good. Sweet and sour mix of cranberries and cherries, I ate the entire batch without thinking twice. I also love the colours of the dried fruit, they almost look like bright, little jewels held snugly in place by a sweet biscuit blanket. Now I have used white caster sugar even though I had every intention to use golden caster sugar but before I knew it the white caster sugar was in and there was no turning back. These biscuits are really forgiving either way so use what you have. These are great for dunking in your tea too should that be your thing. Have I persuaded you? Go on have a go you can throw these together so quickly and they are nice an easy too (always a bonus in my mind).

DSCF2334---edited

Berry + Cherry Garibaldi Biscuits | Makes 16 (+ yummy offcuts)

(adapted from Delia and Emma’s recipes)

Ingredients:

  • 110g self raising flour
  • pinch of fine sea salt
  • 25g unsalted butter, cold
  • 25g caster sugar
  • 1 large egg, separated
  • 2-3 tbsp milk
  • 100g dried fruit – I used 1/2 dried morello cherries and 1/2 dried cranberries
  • Sprinkle of golden caster sugar

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°c and line a baking sheet with baking paper
  2. Measure out the floured salt into a bowl before rubbing in the cold butter with your fingertips until you get a sandy texture before stirring in the caster sugar
  3. Whisk the egg yolk and 2 tablespoons of milk in a separate bowl before slowly adding it to the flour mixture gently mixing it until it comes together and the bowl is clean (you may need to add another tablespoon of milk).
  4. Roll it out on lightly floured surface and roll it out to a 20 x 30cm rectangle, moving to continually between rolls so it doesn’t stick.
  5. Sprinkle the dried fruit over one half of the dough and fold the other half over before rolling it out again to 20 x 30cm.
  6. Trim off the rough edges and cut into four one way before cutting again in four the other way creating 16 equal strips.
  7. Sprinkle with the golden caster sugar and bake in the oven for 15-18 minutes or until nice and golden.
  8. Once ready take them out and leave to cool on a wire rack.
5 thoughts on “Garibaldi Biscuits

  1. laurasmess says:

    I’ve always loved garibaldi biscuits. As a kid, I actually preferred them over most of the cream filled ones (which pleased my mother no end!). I think it was something to do with the perforated strips, they were so much fun to separate and nibble with a cup of milky tea. I’ve also had a long-term love of any baked good containing sultanas and currants (squashed and unsquashed flies!). Think hot cross buns, eccles cakes, mince pies, scones! So, so good!
    Your berries and cherries version sounds DELICIOUS. I also love the fact that home cooks are starting to reinvent a factory produced biscuit (the history was so interesting!) after 150 years or so! Loved this post, I’m definitely going to try the recipe! xx

    Liked by 1 person

      • laurasmess says:

        Haha, funny how different we are isn’t it? I just replied to another comment of yours about chewy vs crunchy cookies (my other half’s preference vs me, haha!). I guess you guys are sultanas vs no sultanas 😀 I’ll definitely msg you when I give the recipe a go xx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

