Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Have you seen the weather this week? It appears to have gone from freezing to glorious sunshine overnight but I am definitely not complaining. Our garden is now full of red, yellow and orange tulips and I am loving it. I find the first few days of sunshine after a cold, grey winter are brilliant and there is a real sense of excitement in the air.

A couple of weeks ago my crown bundt tin from Nordic Ware arrived  and I was not prepared. I had pre-ordered it you see (so much was my excitement for this beauty) but I hadn’t expected to get it until at least May so when I got it I panicked slightly as I had not decided what I was going to make in it. I don’t know why I was worried, any cake you bake in bundt cakes are stunning; the detail in the tins is wonderful and really needs so little decoration.

Tin greased and sprinkled with cocoa powder

I seem to be struggling a little at the moment trying to find balance in my life and so I wanted something comforting and I find chocolate always helps. As with my salted caramel brownies a few weeks ago, this chocolate cake can soothe the soul and bring a moments calm.

 

Close up of tin ready

A simple cake in a bundt tin really lets the detail of the tin shine through, I have now tried both this chocolate cake and brown butter pound cake in this tin and both turned out beautifully. On this cake I have added a lovely chocolate glaze but you don’t even need to do that, a sprinkle of icing sugar or left ‘bare’ work so well.

 

Before going in the oven

The trickiest part to a bundt cake, I find, is the worrying stage where you are not sure of it will stick or not. Bundt champions on twitter (say hello to Rob and Corrina) always swear by cake release, I however didn’t have these to hand and so I just brushed it with melted butter and a light dusting of cocoa powder for this one and it worked a treat.

Just out of the tin

Making a simple chocolate cake has been on my mind for a while, a dark yet not too rich cake. There is a slight tang from the sour cream, but to those unknowing it is unclear and is just a lovely, moist chocolate cake. The glaze, too, is made using a sour cream. At first taste, straight from the bowl, I was unsure in its flavour, had I just taken this sour cream thing too far? Absolutely not is the answer. It melds with the cake so wonderful, I now couldn’t imagine the cake without it. My first slice of this was when it was still barely warm in the middle and it was amazing. The rest was taken into work the next day and I can confirm it was still just as delicious and moist.

After decoration

The cake is itself a doddle to make, made even easier by a stand mixer but don’t fret this could be done by a hand mixer or by hand, there is no creaming of butter and sugar to be done here. That is what makes this cake great, the most effort required is waiting for it to bake.

Side view

This recipe has been adapted from Emma at Poires au Chocolat, I increased the amount of mix as in this tin its really important, I think, to get the full design of the tin in. It does dome quite a lot and crack at the bottom so if that happens don’t worry.

Ready to go in all its glory


Sour Cream Chocolate Bundt Cake [for a 2.4l Nordic Ware bundt tin]

(adapted from Poires au Chocolat)

Ingredients – Cake:

  • 4 Free Range Eggs
  • 320g Sour Cream
  • 75g Cocoa Powder (plus extra for dusting your tin if you don’t have cake release)
  • 2 & 1/2 teaspoons Vanilla Extract
  • 305g Plain Flour
  • 200g Caster Sugar
  • 135g Soft brown Sugar
  • 1 & 1/2 teaspoons Baking Powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon Bicarbonate of Soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon Salt
  • 300g Unsalted Butter, at room temperature (plus extra for greasing)

Ingredients – Glaze:

  • 40g Dark Chocolate
  • 45g Unsalted Butter
  • 80g Icing Sugar
  • 40g Sour Cream
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 2 teaspoons Milk

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 160°c fan
  2. Melt a knob of butter and brush it all over your tin, making sure you get into all the gaps and not forgetting the funnel in the middle. Once coated sift cocoa powder into the tin (I find sifting works best otherwise you get areas with loads and areas with none). Once lightly covered tip it upside down and give it a good tap to get any excess out.
  3. Beat the eggs in a large jug or bowl before adding the sour cream, cocoa and vanilla.
  4. Put flour, both sugars, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda and salt in the bowl of a free standing mixer and stir them together.
  5. Add the butter and about half of the chocolate mixture and whisk on a medium speed until combined and increase the speed whilst slowly pouring the rest of the cocoa mixture into the mix and mix until its evenly distributed.
  6. Pour it into your prepared bundt pan and use your spatula to distribute it nice and evenly around the tin and get it as flat as possible.
  7. Put it in the oven and bake it for approximately 50-60 minutes, once ready a skewer will go in and should come out clean.
  8. Once ready take the cake out the oven and let it cool in the tin for 5 minutes before turning out onto a cooling rack.
  9. Whilst letting that cool make your glaze, First melt your chocolate over a double boiler (or in the microwave if you have one). Then in a different pan melt the butter. Whilst whacking slowly pour the butter into the chocolate until glossy and well combined.
  10. Now add the sour cream and half the icing sugar and whisk, then add the rest of the icing sugar followed by the vanilla extract and milk.
  11. Pour the glaze over the top of the cooled cake.

Side view and inside

 

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Leave a Reply

