Chocolate Dipped Peanut Butter Biscuits

These crunchy, sweet, sugar coated, peanut butter biscuits are dipped in dark chocolate and sprinkled with honey roasted peanuts and sea salt. The recipe is from Joy the Baker and I came across it when looking for inspiration the #GBBOTwitterBakeAlong biscuit week (if you haven’t heard of it and want to know more about it and join in look at Rob or Baking Nanna’s Twitter feed). I was hovering around the idea of making Bourbon biscuits but filled with a ganache rather than buttercream but when I saw these I changed my mind and decided to leave the bourbons for another day.

These biscuits are crunchy, sweet and use almost a full jar of peanut butter – what more could you want. Sometimes when you make cookies (or cake) and you just know from the smell of the mix that it is going to be a winner? Well that is exactly what happened here. Waiting for them to cool once they came out of the oven was the hardest part.

IMG_0457

On decorating these delicious beauties I learnt a very valuable lesson. Now let me just set the scene. It was Sunday morning and I had organised to go see Becky and Katy in he afternoon but decided I would leave the decoration of the cookies until the morning, after all I just needed to melt some chocolate dip them in and away we go. My mum had always taught me from a young age to not buy cooking chocolate, she never told me why but said it was better to buy normal chocolate and the best quality I could afford and for years I was the ever loyal daughter and did as I was told until Sunday (and for this I am sorry Mum). I had bought these cooking chocolate chips and quite frankly thought they were the bees knees, until I was melting them for these biscuits. When melting it just never got runny, when melted it was very ‘sticky’ and more the consistency of ganache (I had added nothing to it). Anyway lesson learnt do not buy cooking chocolate for melting and dipping biscuits into you will be left disappointed and frustrated. After a few moments of panic Dave saved the day and went to get me some normal chocolate, which melted fine and all was well again in the world.

Lesson: listen to your Mum, they really do know best.

IMG_0478

I have converted the recipe from Joy the Baker with a small tweak on the dipping chocolate, as I didn’t have any coconut oil in the house.


Chocolate dipped peanut butter biscuits

[From Joy the Baker]

Biscuits:

  • 235g Plain Flour
  • 1tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/4 tsp Freshly grated nutmeg
  • 115g Unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 100g Granulated sugar + approx. 75g for rolling
  • 75g Soft light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp Vanilla extract
  • 1 Large egg
  • 185g Smooth peanut butter

To decorate:

  • 225g Dark chocolate
  • 10g Unsalted butter (or 2 tsp)
  • 3 tbsp Sea salt flakes
  • 50g Honey roasted peanuts, roughly chopped
  1. Preheat the oven to Cover 2 baking trays with baking paper.
  2. In a stand mixer with a paddle attachment (or using a handheld electric mixer with the beater attachment) cream the butter and both sugars together on a medium-high speed until pale and fluffy.
  3. Meanwhile sift the flour, baking powder and nutmeg together in bowl.
  4. Add the egg and vanilla extract before beating again on a medium-high speed for 2-3 minutes before adding the peanut butter and beating again until just combined.
  5. Add the flour mix to the bowl and combine. Refrigerate the mix for at least 30 minutes. Preheat the oven to 180°c.
  6. Once chilled, roll about 1 tablespoon of mixture at a time into granulated sugar and place on the prepared baking tray before pressing a fork into them one way and then the other to create the criss-cross pattern (you could just punch them down or use the fork only one way if you prefer). Keep the cookies about 2.5-3cm apart as they will spread.
  7. Bake in the oven for 10-15 minutes or until golden brown. Once done take out the oven and place the tray on a cooling rack for 5-10minutes before taking the biscuits off the tray and onto the cooling rack to cool completely.
  8. To decorate, put the chocolate and butter in a bowl over a barely simmering pan of water and melt together until smooth. Dip each cooled biscuit into the chocolate before placing on a baking sheet with parchment on and sprinkle a few nuts and a sprinkle of sea salt over the chocolate. Leave to set.

 

7 thoughts on “Chocolate Dipped Peanut Butter Biscuits

  1. Sammie says:

    These look amazing. You probably know by now but cooking chocolate and chocolate chips have stabilisers added to stop them melting whilst they bake. I love peanuts in cookies and a whole jar of peanut butter sounds perfect to me. Beautiful biscuits xx.

    Liked by 1 person

    • biscuits and pieces says:

      Thank you Sammie 🙂 Yes when it wasn’t going right I checked the packet and saw that – should have listened to my mum! These did go down very well and were deemed to be my best biscuit yet by Dave’s office who got the leftovers xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

