Mulled Wine

The smell of mulled wine is starting to fill the air as you walk into cafes, pubs, bars and my house! Mulled wine is one of my favourite things about Christmas. I remember my mum making it when we were younger and loving the smell never knowing what the elixir was. Then when I was old enough to try it I loved it even though at the time I didn’t like wine, especially red (oh how times change).

ingredients

I got into the Christmas spirit early when making this Yule log a few weeks back, and whilst I was making it I had some of this on the go. One of my favourite things is curling my hands around a gorgeous smelling cup of mulled wine with a mince pie or almond crescent, especially if I am watching a Christmas film at the same time. I change up my recipe quite often, this year there is an addition of a splash of brandy. I often make this as a Christmas gift too, putting it in a nice bottle and tying a cinnamon stick around the neck with some pretty ribbon. You do not need to use your fanciest bottle for this, in fact I always go for a more budget bottle.

saucepan

over-the-top


Mulled Wine

Ingredients:

  • 1 Bottle Red Wine
  • 200ml Orange Juice (or juice of 2 oranges) I used the peel too.
  • 75g Caster Sugar
  • 1 Bayleaf
  • 2-3 Star Anise
  • 2 pinches of whole Cloves
  • Small pinch of Pink Peppercorns
  • Generous grating of Nutmeg
  • Cinnamon stick
  • 1 Apple
  • 15ml (1tbsp) brandy

Method:

  1. Slice and peel the apple and put it in a saucepan with the rest of the ingredients.
  2. Slowly heat it all up so the flavours infuse into the wine, careful not to let it boil.
  3. Strain and serve in heatproof glasses or mugs. Reheat in the microwave or in the saucepan.
  4. It will keep for a couple of days in the fridge but do take all the fresh fruit and spices out and make sure you reheat it through well.

 

Note: If you are looking for a non-alcoholic Christmas drink, try this mulled apple juice I made last year.

 

 

Leave a Reply

