Brownies 1.0

Why hello there! Here we are almost hitting the end of January (if anyone could tell me where time disappears to let me know) and here is my first blog post of 2017. I have had a good time off though, busy spending time with family, doing DIY and getting some ideas together. I am looking forward to a fun (and cake) filled 2017! I am starting as I mean to go on with a delicious brownie recipe for you.

out-of-the-oven

Brownies. Everyone loves them, right? I am assuming you are all nodding your heads and agreeing at this point by the way. I love brownies, I think I may have mentioned this in my recipe for these delightful salted caramel brownies, which can be found here. There is something immensely comforting about them, both in the eating and in the making. My Mum’s brownies recipe was the first thing I remember baking and I used to bake them so much I knew the recipe off by heart (a fact I was, and still am, very proud of).

corner-sliced

I know there are many people who are very particular on their brownies. There are a plethora of recipes out there and I want to try them ALL. I also love them all, all the flavours and textures I am not picky.

corner-crust

inside-slice

So this is brownie recipe version 1.0. I hate to use the word basic but it is a simple recipe with no additional flavours or additions. A recipe I am sure I will want to tweak and adjust as the time suits. This is for a dense, fudgey textured brownie that is super chocolatey with a crisp sugar top. The brown butter gives a slight nutty flavour to these beauties but if you don’t have the time to brown it don’t worry these will be delicious anyway. Enjoy.

Brownie-Stack.jpg

Brownies 1.0
[Adapted from Cookie + Kate and Dan Lepard’s brownie recipe from ‘Short & Sweet’]

  • 150g Unsalted Butter
  • 125g Light Soft Brown Sugar
  • 100g Caster Sugar
  • 200g Dark Chocolate, melted over a double boiler
  • 1 Tablespoon Cocoa Powder
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Sea Salt
  • 1.5 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 175g Plain Flour
  • 2 Eggs, cold

Preheat the oven to 160°c fan. Line a 20cm square tin with greaseproof paper.

Melt the butter in a saucepan. If you are browning the butter continue to heat it on a low to medium heat until it has stopped making the crackling sound and is a nice golden colour with the leftover milk solids are nice and toasted, skim off any froth. Once the butter is melted stir in the sugars, cocoa powder, vanilla extract, melted chocolate and sea salt. Pour it into a large mixing bowl and leave to cool.

Lightly beat the eggs in a separate bowl and once the chocolate mixture has cooled beat in the eggs a little at a time until fully incorporated. Now sift in the plain flour, stirring that in until no streaks of flour can be seen. Pour into prepared tin and spread evenly.

Place in the oven for 25-30 minutes until the top has a nice crust on and a toothpick will come out almost clean. Leave to cool in the tin on a cooling rack.

 

 

Leave a Reply

